ALA Committees

2023 January Lightovation Schedule

2023 January Lightovation Schedule

ALA is excited to be hosting various events, committee meetings, and seminars throughout January Lightovation. View the full schedule here.

Annual Conference Committee

Chair - Tyson Neal, Associate Vice President, Legend Lighting Inc.

Annual Conference Committee - Long Range

Chair - Lars Bostrom, CLMR | President, Bostrom Lighting Sales

Awards & Recognition Committee

Chair - William Branham, II, President, The Brecher Company

Certification Committee

Chair - Bob Warmbold, CLC | Owner, Accent Lighting

Board of Governors

Chair - Laurie Gross

Education Committee

Chair - Elise Severson, CLC, CLMR | Partner, Lytestyles 

Education Foundation Board of Trustees and Charitable Endowment Committee

Chair - Ralph Flores, President, Flores Lighting Group

Electronic Technology Committee

Chair - Jack Fleischer, CLC | President, Hermitage Lighting Gallery

Finance Committee

Chair - Rick Seidman, President and CEO, Quoizel, Inc.

Engineering Committee

Co-chair - Michael O'Boyle, LC
Senior Manger - Research & Design, Philips Lighting

Co-chair - David Shiller
President, Lighting Solution Development

Government Engagement Committee

U.S. Engagement Chair - Clark Linstone | CFO, Lamps Plus

Canadian Engagment Chair - Fred Fennell, CLMR | Owner, Fennell Marketing & Sales

Governors Nominating Committee

Chair - Ed Kolb, Sales Director, Quorum / Oxygen / Cyan

Manufacturers Steering Committee

Chair - Bradford Smith | CEO, Elk Group International 

Manufacturers Representative Steering Committee

Chair - Hal Schwartz, Owner, Enlightening Sales

Membership Development Committee

Chair - Laurie Gross, CLC, President Gross Electric, Inc.

Officers Nominating Committee

Chair - Fred Fennell, Owner, Fennell Marketing & Sales

Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations Committee

Chair - Tim Stumm | Creative Director, Z-Lite

Political Action Committee

Chair - Michael Estrin, CLMR | Owner, Estrin Sales Agency

Showroom Steering Committee

Chair - Michelle Plumley, LS, Corporate Trainer, Progressive Lighting Inc.

Young Executives Committee

Co-chair - Sarah Chandler, National Sales Director, Varaluz

Co-chair - Robert Parker, Account Manager, Richard Alan & Associates

Women in Lighting Committee

Co-chair - Colleeen Visage

Co-chair - Cathy Choi

ALA committees are made up of member volunteers. Each committee has a unique purpose and focus, which play an important role in the success of the association. Committees meet during the January and June Lightovation Markets in Dallas, and potentially during the ALA Annual Conference. While some committees have limited sizes, most do not. If you are interested in participating in one of the committees listed below, please email or complete this form.  

2023 January Lightovation Schedule

2023 January Lightovation Schedule

Monday, November 21, 2022/Categories: News, Industry News, Committees

ALA is excited to be hosting various events, committee meetings, and seminars throughout January Lightovation. Review the full schedule below and register for ALA's seminars.




ALA Women in Lighting Event
Tuesday, Jan. 10
5 - 6 p.m.
Maxim Showroom (TM 3901)

Join the ALA Women in Lighting for a networking reception, which is open to everyone, but focused on fostering connections for professional women from all areas of the lighting industry and at all levels of experience. Enjoy refreshments courtesy of Maxim Lighting while engaging with your peers. Plus, enter our drawing to win a free 2023 ALA Conference registration.


Cheers with Peers
Wednesday, Jan. 11
5 - 6 p.m.
Elk Home Showroom (TM 3606)

Join the ALA Young Executives for refreshments and networking sponsored by Elk Home. Don’t miss this chance to connect with the future leaders of the lighting industry. Plus, we’re giving away a free registration to the 2023 ALA Conference and ALA Young Executives swag.



ALA's committees are comprised of member volunteers and play an integral role in guiding the association's programming. If you are interested in joining one of the committees listed below, please email


The following committee meetings will be held during January Lightovation in the SMART Center (TM 4826).

Tuesday, Jan. 10

8 - 9:15 a.m. | Manufacturer Representatives Steering Committee

9:15 - 10:15 a.m. | Awards & Recognition Committee

Wednesday, Jan. 11

7:30 - 8:45 a.m. | Marketing, Advertising, & PR Committee

9 - 10 a.m. | Long-range Conference Planning Committee

10 - 11 a.m. | Education Foundation Board of Trustees

2 - 3 p.m. | Product Data Standard Committee

Thursday, Jan. 12

8 - 10 a.m. | Board of Governors

12 - 1 p.m. | Government Engagement Committee (Virtual Link Available)

Friday, Jan. 13

8 - 9 a.m. | Women in Lighting Committee


The following committee meetings will be held virtually in January. Participating members will receive Zoom links via email prior to the meetings.

Wednesday, Jan. 4

2:30 - 3:45 p.m. | Finance Committee

Friday, Jan. 6

1 - 2 p.m. | 2023 Conference Committee

Wednesday, Jan. 18

2 - 3 p.m. | Membership Campaign Committee

Thursday, Jan. 19

10 - 11:30 a.m. | Manufacturers Steering Committee

11 a.m. - 12 p.m. | Certification Committee

1 - 2 p.m. | Showroom Steering Committee

Wednesday, Jan. 25

11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. | Education Committee



ALA will host the following seminars on Wednesday during Lightovation in The SMART Center Seminar Room (TM 4826). Pre-register online using the links below.

9 Important Things Every Lighting Pro Should Know
Instructor: Jeffrey R. Dross
Wednesday, Jan. 11 | 10 - 11 a.m.
Cost: $29
CEU and CLC Credits: 1 Hour
IDCEC Certified - Class Code Coming Soon

In one hour, learn nine very important things every lighting pro should know. Some of the important areas that will be covered in this discussion include:

  • Getting started on selecting lighting for task-oriented spaces or applications
  • Bath lighting
  • Lighting for small spaces
  • Using sconces
  • Closets
  • Light bulb guide
  • Cleaning and maintenance



Emerging Technologies in the Lighting Industry
Instructor: Patricia Barron, COO, Sky Technologies
Wednesday, Jan. 11
1 - 2 p.m.
Cost: Free

Join Patty Barron as she discusses the emergence of innovative technologies that will evolve and disrupt the lighting and fan industry. Focusing on smart technologies and weight-supporting plug-and-play systems, learn how safety and convenience take front seat when installing electrical products and how to get more from your lighting systems.



Exciting Applications for LED Tape That Will Maximize Any Interior
Instructor: Jeffrey R. Dross
Wednesday, Jan. 11 | 3 - 4 p.m.
Cost: $29
CEU and CLC Credits: 1 Hour
IDCEC Certified - Class Code Coming Soon

We need functional lighting to perform a task and illuminate a space. However, the type of lighting that delivers the most visual impact is non-functional accent or decorative lighting. Architectural detail lighting can enliven a space and set a room apart. Accent lighting can draw attention to the nuances of the room, give it greater perceptible size, and make it the envy of all who see it. Architectural detail lighting is small, but its impact packs a visual punch.

Today, that type of architectural detail lighting can also be provided by LED tape. This functional and flexible light source continues to grow in use and importance. In this session, we will look at multiple types of applications with tips and suggestions for installation included. After attending this session, specifiying and employing LED tape and the assorted channels on the market will be substantially easier.



Number of views (3413)/Comments (0)